About me

My name is Leah, 36 years old. I am a freelance blogger. I live with my husband and children in Germany, but I’m from the Netherlands originally. I have a beautiful son and daughter, 20 months apart, and they have a wonderful big (half)brother from my husband’s former marriage.

I studied cultural anthropology in the Netherlands before moving to Belgium, after which I moved to Germany, then to Spain, then England, then back to Germany again. I spend 7 months in Peru and 3 months in Nepal.

After a somewhat wild and restless life, I find myself a stay-at-home mother living in a German village. I could not have imagined this life 10 years ago and wouldn’t have believed it if someone had told me back then how much I would love the settled-down life. It gives me a lot of satisfaction being a mother. I benefit from the chance one has in Germany to be a stay-at-home parent for three years before returning to work.

This doesn’t mean, of course, that it isn’t hard at times. I don’t mean to pretend that it is all flowers and sunshine. But I do want to focus mainly on the beautiful parts of parenting in this blog.

What else could I tell you about me? I meditate every day, which benefits me a lot; I enjoy writing this blog, making things with my hands, either alone or with my kids, going to the playground with my kids, meeting with friends. I am not overly fond of housework, but I have found some satisfaction and rhythm in it.

I think that is enough about me for now. Thank you for visiting my blog!